Bookmark and ShareEntertainment

Okanagan artists honoured

Thursday, March 4th, 2010 | 11:15 pm

GD Star Rating

Choir director Leroy Wiens hold the Okanagan Art Award he received in the category of Arts Educator. He is choral director of the Okanagan Festival Singers and the Okanagan Community Choir. (Photo Chris Stanford)

The third annual Okanagan Arts Awards were presented at a gala evening at the Westbank Community Hall Thursday night.

Presented in eight categories by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, recipients received plaques and a sculpture created by Kelowna artist Jeanne Bates for their achievements.

The winners were:

Music – Anna Jacyszyn, Kelowna

Visual Arts – Gary Pearson, Kelowna

Dance – Tanya Bakala, Kelowna

Literary Arts – Nancy Holmes, Kelowna

Theatre – Louise Sjoquist, West Kelowna

Arts Educator – Leroy Wiens, Kelowna

Supporter of the Arts – Jody Lafontaine, Lake Country

Lifetime Achievement – Geert Maas, Kelowna

Check here for an update.


Okanagan artists honoured5.057

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.

Tags: , , ,